..

Friday, February 5, 2016

The Zine Explorer's Notebook #6 [Winter/Spring 2015]

22 pages, 11" x 8.5", $2.00/Trade/Stamps/Letter >>> Doug Harrison, PO Box 5291, Richmond VA 23220, USA "Letters, reviews, editorials, real mailing addresses, typographical refinements, art & illustrations, esoteric notions" it says in a box next to the title on the cover. We're in the Zine Zone of No Computers here - a world also populated by Fred Woodworth's The Match!; Anthony Walent's Communicating Vessels; and Jason Rodgers's Media Junky. The format, size, and level of 'slickness' of these zines may differ, but one thing they all share is a passionate opposition to modern technology, especially the internet. These guys may actually even use the internet sometimes, but it sure doesn't take centre stage in their life. To put it another way, don't hold your breath for them to switch to a blog format; or a downloadable PDF. The Zine Explorer's Notebook has come a long way since I last reviewed it [tZEN #3] - doubling in size, for one thing. The letter column is also a treat, and one letter in here especially - the one from a prisoner who admits to beating an 'alleged' pedophile and leaving him for dead, and being proud of it. In his response, Doug objects to this guy's self-righteous braggadocio. Another fascinating letter is from Al Fry, who seems to be some kind of militant gardener, with his vigorous writings on weeds, Monsanto, and fluoridated water ["rat poison"]. I really appreciated the zine reviews too. Every zine really should contain reviews of other zines. You've probably heard that before, but for those who make a zine and don't include zine reviews in their zine, they need to hear it a few more times, at least until they wake the fuck up and start putting zine reviews in their own zine. Wake up! Grab a brush and put on a little make-up!

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

The Gaysi Zine – Issue 4

The Gaysi Zine – Issue 4

122 pages. 23cm x 17cm.

INR 350 + INR 30 (Delivery Charge within India). International rates, see below. 


Being gay in India is to be routinely punished by physical assault and verbal threats. In such a culture it can be dangerous, both physically and emotionally, to be open about sexuality. 
Which is what makes publishing Gaysi hugely brave and incredibly culturally important


The latest issue of Gaysi Zine is India's first graphic anthology of gay narratives. Contributors come from a variety of cultural backgrounds and artistic disciplines, there has been no discrimination over age, sexuality or ethnicity. The result is a beautiful thing. 

The production is amazing, - it feels, looks, and even smells great (I admit I do have a thing for ink though). The design really binds the varied styles and tones together, making it hold together as a collective work. 

The texts cover subjects such as how it is to be treated being a single woman in the face of a society that refuses to accept independence; the perils of seduction; loneliness, loss, and longing. They range from emotional diary like entries, through poetic visual narratives, to witty observational comic strips. 

The style of the artwork is absorbing, fluid and strong. Each page is visual journey that pulls you in. The collaborative pairings of writers and artists really works. 

I can't recommend you get a copy of Gaysi Issue 4 enough. Buy it, get your friends to buy it. Spread the word. Gaysi Zine has the right approach to sexuality in India, it is their attitude that should be the norm not the exception. 






For ordering information visit: https://www.instamojo.com/GaysiFamily/the-gaysi-zine-queer-graphic-anthology-122-p

Check out Gaysi on the web here: Gaysifamily.com



** For International Delivery: please write to gaysifamily@gmail.com with the subject line ‘Booking The Gaysi Zine – mention the number of copies’, and the Gaysi family will take it forward from there **


Review by Nathan Penlington. My review of Gaysi Issue 3 is here

Wednesday, January 13, 2016

The Christian New Age Quarterly


The Christian New Age Quarterly
16 pages, half legal
$3.50 USA / $5.00 elsewhere
$12.50 / $18.50 per 4 issue subscription

Explores the intersection between Christianity and other spiritual paths with an emphasis on mysticism and myth. Fiction, essays, letters, reviews.

Christian New Age Quarterly
PO Box 276
Clifton, NJ 07015-0276

http://www.christiannewage.com/

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

The Azure Aztec, Pure Baloney



The Azure Aztec, Pure Baloney
15 pages, comic size
$5.00 + Postage


This is an old fashioned, Sunday funnies style comic with a bit more bite. Very silly but engaging and enjoyable. 50 consecutive 4 panel strips tell the story of muscle bound Joe Baloney, Dr Blond, and a dinosaur going after an evil Aztec priest. Or is he?


Ron Hill | 440.376.0442 | ron@ronhillartist.com | 7394 Portage Street, Solon OH 44139


review by Jack Cheiky





Saturday, January 9, 2016

Suspect Press (Denver's Underground) #8



Suspect Press (Denver's Underground) #8
32 pages, newsprint, 9 x 11        
Free or Trade

Artsy rag with a little attitude, doesn't take itself too seriously. Mostly written and produced by three people, though I don't think that's their goal. Seems to want to be an outlet for lesser know talent.. While somewhat bohemian, it doesn't appear to be specifically or especially underground. But hey, what do I know about Denver's underground? There's a variety of the usual suspects: fiction, comics, cool art, poetry, commentary, interviews, music and book reviews, lots of local ads, and 10 Reasons Why Keanu Reeves should come to my birthday party.

Better than average content for a zine.

denversuspectpress at gmail.com
suspectpress.blogsplot.com


review by Jack Cheiky

Thursday, January 7, 2016

Making Jamie




[Note: I couldn't do this one, I started writing mean things in the margins, then realised this could end up just coming across bitter and twisted. Maybe it's just me? I mean look, I haven't had kids and certainly don't plan to, but my d-comix pal David Puckeridge actually HAS been through that nightmare... i mean, wonderful, joyous magical part of life! ... so I passed this one to him. So, here's our Special Guest Review! Thanks David! *Phew!*]

http://www.kylebravo.com/kylebravo/4223/making_jamie_comics

"Making Jamie" is a diary comic about having a baby.  Artist and teacher Kyle Bravo documents the journey daily over six months, climaxing in the inevitable birth and all the challenges that come with the momentous event.
Kyle's loose drawing style is appealing, and there's a lot to relate to in the story if you've gone through the same thing yourself.  Everyone else should stay away, unless you WANT to hear about lots of "poop" and pee and amniotic fluid.
Even the breeders among us might be turned off by Kyle's cutesy style ('cute' is a word he uses a lot.)  Still, it's interesting to see the babymaking process from another perspective, whether you warm to Kyle or not.

Originally posted on Blackguard


Saturday, December 26, 2015

Worker Justice Illustrated #2


Worker Justice Illustrated #2
52 pages, 3/4 size
Slick, full color, saddle stapled
$2.99 + postage

Very cool socialist propaganda comics from the good people at Interfaith Worker Justice. First half is in English, flip it over and the second half is in Spanish. Worker rights comics cover a range of topics like minimum wage, wage theft, injuries sustained from meat manufacturing jobs, and debit card paycheck scams. On the positive side is a series of personal stories from cleaning crews who won wage and benefit increases from Target after banding together, and a brief history of the workers solidarity movement.

Heavy hitting leftist fanfare for adults and budding young revolutionaries.

For postage rates and bulk order quotes contact:

Interfaith Worker Justice
1020 W. Bryn Mawr Ave.
Chicago, IL 60660
(773) 728-8400

http://www.iwj.org/contact-us

Denton


BB Bluesbird


8 pages, digest
black & white on off-white card stock
$1.00 each

BB Bluesbird is a creation of artist Ron Hill, and is now a collaboration between him and Gary Dumm, (of Harvey Pekar's American Splendor.)

Bluesbird has a vintage feel to it, both in style and subject. It pays homage to the old blues players and the early rock and rollers who where trying so hard to be like them, Clapton, The Stones, etc. BB Bluesbird is a hustler with a guitar on the road trying to bet paid.

I have two small volumes I picked up at the MOCA Cleveland Zine Exhibit in August 2015. One (Rock, Paper, Scissors,) is an actual comic, the other (Moleskin,) a collection of 2 to 4 frame stand alone pieces. These are early works of Ron Hill's. Pictured above.

For the early black and white issues email Ron for his address and postage.
ron@ronhillartist.com




Also, the collaborated 28 page, mainly full color, full size comics Ron Hill and Gary Dumm collaborated on are available for $6 + postage.











Thursday, December 24, 2015

Resist 47


Resist 47
52 pages, digest
$6.00 Delivered (US)

The last zine in the world I thought I'd love would be one about bicycling and gardening. Boy was I wrong.

47 is friendly, straightforward, instructional, well written, artistic, and has an overall punkish sensibility and DIY demeanor. It comes with a packet of seeds stapled inside, (mine were zucchini.)

Other topics covered in this per-zine include butchering a turkey, building a wash tub bass (like in Hee Haw,) installing an outdoor water spigot, how to solder copper tubing, pet worms, and lots of bike and garden stories and tips.

My favorite part was a piece at the end, "Why I do what I do." Here I find similarities in outlook and approach to life.

Very cool. Thick.

Order:
Matte Resist
PO Box 582345
Minneapolis MN 55458

Website

Contact Form


Friday, November 27, 2015

The Slush Pile - 2015 Nov 27

Influential Women In Early Electronic Music
  • Influential Women In Early Electronic Music - Thumbnail 1
Influential Women In Early Electronic Music
$15.00

DESCRIPTION
This zine highlights some of the torchbearers who were there from the dawning of the electronic music genre, such as Delia Derbyshire (most famous for her work on the Doctor Who theme song), as well as artists who broke ground using later-developed innovative software, such as Pamela Z, a composer best known for voice electronic processing.
The zine comes with a free mix CD of a selection of songs from the featured artists, as well as a 4″ x 4″ sticker.
Illustrated and written by Night Pong
24 pages, full color.
(price includes shipping)







































Artists, fans mingle at New Orleans Comics, Zines Fest






























Monday, November 23, 2015

The Slush Pile - 2015 Nov 23rd



Thames Valley

Punk comes to Reading at Radical Zine Fair

The event which aims to to be Reading's first "inclusive, intersectional and radical zine fair" will be at the Jacksons building in King's Road on Saturday, December 12.















Relief Zine
Relief Zine
$5.00

DESCRIPTION
Relief is a publication featuring young printmakers who work in relief media. We aim to showcase talent in an art medium that is often considered rudimentary and unsophisticated.
Featured artists (A-Z): 
Molly Bounds, Raj Bunnag, Genesis Crepso, Aaron David, John Fleissner, Daniel Green, Dan Heskamp, Izzy Jarvis, Ali Cat. Leeds, Andrew Mullally, Jacob Parker, Nicole Rodrigues, and Tamara Santibañez
- - - - - 
8-Pages, Offset-Printed on Large Newsprint 
Each page measures 15 x 22.5", with a 30 x 22.5" centerfold. 
Zine can be read as a publication, or used as posters.
Shipping Note: 
This item is shipped folded to fit into a 9x12 envelope, but can be sent in a large flat cardboard package. Add a note in your order and you will be billed an additional $2.50 for cardboard shipping.



































Myrtle Beach

Zine making party!

 06 December
 Comics N' More
 31 Union St - 01027 - Easthampton -
 Library 451 - Biblioteca 451


Library/Biblioteca451 wants you to help create zines for our community bookshelves. We will be using quotes and excerpts from our favorite books/pieces that inspired and empowered us. We will use these zines to share our favorite authors, poets and thinkers with our community. You are also welcome to come work on your own project if you just want to join in the fun. 451 will provide zine making supplies and snacks, but feel free to bring art, books to quote, and art supplies to share.

















Video documentation of the workshop Pedro Ferreira and Assunta Alegiani gave at Prem Tinunsalonda International School as part of the Traidhos Artist Residency Thailand programme.
Chiang Mai, November 2015.




LOOK AT OUR NEW DOOR!

If you’re popping in to the zine library you’ll notice something new. Instead of the A4 print-out with Salford Zine Library on it announcing your arrival, we now have a beautiful painted door with cats in space on it. Much better!
The super talented illustrator Polly Richards came to do it for us and I think we can all agree that she’s done an excellent job. She makes zines and does illustration for lots of different things too (like this No Ditching record cover!). I’d recommend going over to her site RIGHT NOW.













After curating screenshots from Snapchat for over a year, we are ready to release our zine, SNAP. It features 25 sick screencaps printed on high quality glossy paper. We have staple and perfect bound editions, both for 10 beans, shipping included. This one is a banger— click the button, get a book.
























Wednesday, November 18, 2015

The Slush Pile - 2015 Nov 18


Image of A Face Only A Mother Could Love / Will Bryant

    A Face Only A Mother Could Love / Will Bryant

    $10.00



    Think you have an ugly mug? Will Bryant's gallery of rogues and ruffians will give you a run for your money.
    Published by Draw Down
    First edition, 2015
    20 pages, black and white, 4 × 6 in.





    Temple of Adoration Zine Issue 11 is out now!

     

    Featuring interviews with: 
    - Death Courier (Gre.)- Old guys talking about past & present of the band. 
    - Solothus (Fin.)- Promising D.M.! 
    - Aphonic Threnody (Uk./Ita.)- Prolific Funeral Doooom Monster. 
    - Necrostuprum/ Satanic Torment (Pol./Fin.)- Raw Black Metal Infame. 
    - Ligfaerd (Dk.)- Black/Death from the Order of the Nonagram. 
    - Ysengrin (Fra.)- Occult Death Metal. 
    - Harsh Supplement (Can.)- Harsh Noise crossing borders with Noisecore. 
    - Screaming Brain (Mac.)- Rancid old fashioned Punk. 
    - Arkaik Excruciation (Spa.)- For me one of the best Black Metal Demos in 2014. 
    - Grigorien (Dk.)- Agressive Black Metal Assault. 
    - Death Angel`s (Bra.)- Old & forgotten Deathrash act from the 80ies. 
    - Black Grail (Chl.)- Occult Black Metal introducing the concept of the debut album. 
    - Rhadamanthys (Gre.)- Infamous B.M. obscurity from the past! 
    - Black Mastrobation (Dk.)- Black Metal Noise! 
    - Josue O Salvador Em Busca Da Perdicao (Prt.)- Utmost trippy Doooooom!One of the longest interviews in this zine. 

    A Label report including short Interviews with: 
    - Equinox Discos (Spa.) 
    - Caverna Abismal (Prt.) 
    - Fuck Yoga! (Mac.) 
    - Blastbeat Mailmurder (Gre.) 
    + Reviews & Live Reports. 

    52 pages in total. 
    Price: 7 Euros Postage paid worldwide, 5 Euros postage paid inside Germany 
    Wholesale, Paypal & trades are possible on request. 

    Contact: evisc666@hotmail.com 







    Death Issue 1

    $2.89
    Issue 1 of DEATH!
    This is a 26 page punk literature zine. Stories, photographs, illustrations.
    It comes with a poster and a hand drawn sticker.
    SHIPS WORLDWIDE!








    FOUNDS - ZINE

    $5.00 / On Sale
    A ZINE OF PHOTOS FOUND IN THE TRASH BY JOSHUA MACKIE AND DAN ANGEL. PHOTOS FROM 1950'S - 1990'S.
    18 PAGES BLACK AND WHITE






    Zinester Trading Cards, Series 2






    PRELUDE ZINE


    "Prelude" is a zine that serves as an introduction to "Scéalta" (our upcoming project), filled with background information that centers around the legends and mythology that will be mentioned in "Scéalta".

    A5 | 14.8 x 21cm | softcover | 20 pg | full color
    USD






    NIGHTED Life 8 Zine & T-Shirt
    $24.00

    Small

    • Small
    • Medium
    • Large
    • X-Large
    • 2X-Large


    DESCRIPTION
    This issue, we gave 10 contributors four pages each. The result is 40 pages packed with full color photos, collages and writing. 8.5x5.5, full bleed on matte coated paper.
    Featuring::
    Jonathan Sherman
    William Moncayo
    Kelsey Reckling
    Evan McKnight
    Clark Allen
    Yui Fukunaga
    Joseph Rayo
    Hannah Rubin
    Nick Garcia
    Bongripsinthehood



    Search Syndicated Zine Reviews

    Loading...